Trang chủ > Billy Joel, Collection, Music > Just the Way You Are – Billy Joel

Just the Way You Are – Billy Joel

Don’t go changing, to try and please me
You never let me down before
Don’t imagine you’re too familiar
And I don’t see you anymore
I wouldn’t leave you in times of trouble
We never could have come this far
I took the good times, I’ll take the bad times
I’ll take you just the way you are

Don’t go trying some new fashion
Don’t change the color of your hair
You always have my unspoken passion
Although I might not seem to care

I don’t want clever conversation
I never want to work that hard
I just want someone that I can talk to
I want you just the way you are.

I need to know that you will always be
The same old someone that I knew
What will it take till you believe in me
The way that I believe in you.

I said I love you and that’s forever
And this I promise from the heart
I could not love you any better
I love you just the way you are.

..

From Wikipedia

::::

“Just the Way You Are” is a song by Billy Joel from his 1977 album, The Stranger. It was Joel’s first US Top 10 (reaching #3) and UK Top 20 single, as well as Joel’s first gold single in the US. “Just the Way You Are” won the 1978 Grammy Awards for Record of the Year and Song of the Year.
Background

Joel stated that he disliked the song, and was originally going to leave it off the album. However, at the request of both Linda Ronstadt and Phoebe Snow (both were recording in other studios in the same building at the time), Joel and producer Phil Ramone agreed to leave it on the album.[1]

When “Just the Way You Are” was released as a single, it was shortened by over a minute. The differences are the removal of the second verse and an earlier fade. A live performance of the song was also used as a music video. On February 18, 1978, Joel performed a shorter version of the song as the musical guest on Saturday Night Live (along with “Only the Good Die Young”). The single version was included in the first release of Greatest Hits Volume I, but the full album version was restored for the remastered release of that compilation.

Since its initial release, the song has been covered by Barry White, Diana Krall, Ahmad Jamal, Shirley Bassey, Frank Sinatra, Isaac Hayes, Will Martin, Harry Connick, Jr., José José and Jay R. It was also covered by the Ska Rangers on the soundtrack for The Hangover Part II.
..
7″ U.S. and UK single (1977)

“Just the Way You Are” – 3:27
“Get It Right the First Time” – 3:54
..

“Just the Way You Are”
Single by Billy Joel
from the album The Stranger
B-side “Get It Right the First Time”
Released September 1977
Format 7″
Recorded 1977
Genre Pop rock, Soft rock
Length 4:47 (album version)
3:36 (single version)
Label Columbia
Writer(s) Billy Joel
Producer Phil Ramone
Certification Gold (RIAA)
Billy Joel singles chronology
New York State of Mind
(1976)
Just the Way You Are
(1977)
Movin’ Out (Anthony’s Song)
(1977)
  1. Chưa có phản hồi.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Gửi phản hồi

